Restaurant Review: Beehive Oven

On a beautiful summer day, I decided to skip Pies ‘N Thighs and try Beehive Oven two blocks down and around the corner. Don’t get me wrong, Pies ‘N Thighs will always be my secret homieloverfriend for those delicious donuts but I’ve been underwhelmed multiple times by the food and had no desire to bake outside in the sun while waiting for a table. It was time to try something different. Enter Beehive Oven. Hey bae. Hey.

My two simple requirements for dining in BK: must look happy to work there, must accept cards. Both easily fulfilled. I decided to stay for lunch.

image

image

image

This place is not big, not many restaurants in New York are, but it was bright, colorful, and open. The server was pleasant and quick. I was offered a small plate of veggies and ranch dressing before the meal. That was a nice touch.

Now to the food. For an appetizer, I ordered deviled eggs and for my entree I ordered the chicken fried steak. I saw a Yelp review complaining about the portion size but I almost regretted ordering once the food came. It was massive and too heavy for a work day lunch. I have no idea what I was thinking.

image

image

It was love at first bite. It’s been years since I’ve had chicken fried steak and this made me want it for the next month. The only thing I was not impressed with were the collard greens on the side. Bland and tasteless with zero spice. Even the onion couldn’t save it. Vegetables like seasoning too. At least that’s what I heard.

Can I see myself coming back here? Yes. Now excuse me while I go sleep under my desk.

Leave a Reply

