Weekend Outing: The Nail Boutique

image

Instead of crossing an activity or event off the summer bucket list, I went to a place I regularly visit during the warm months: the nail salon. Not just any nail salon would do. I decided to go to The Nail Boutique in Clinton Hill.

It’s a necessary evil in my life but not an activity I enjoy. It has always been noisy, crowded, some places unsanitary, and some employees flat out rude. I endure this chaos because I have to save the world from my dry, mangled toes. I didn’t think there was hope until I found The Nail Boutique.

image

When I first went in I saw it was very clean and beautifully decorated. The pedicure chairs were big and plush with crimson pillows from Pier 1 Imports adorning each chair. There was a beautiful chandelier hung on the ceiling. 

R&B music from Eric Benet, Faith Evans, Anita Baker, and more poured from the speakers. I really liked it but some of the music was more suited for bed and I’m not talking about sleep.

Best of all, on weekends the salon serves sangrias or mimosas to anyone being serviced (nonalcoholic beverages such as water and tea is served too).

image
image

Service was quick for a manicure and pedicure and then I was off to explore Fulton Street. 

I went with the Fifth Avenue pedicure which included a moisturizing mask, a scrub, a quick leg and foot massage, and some deliciously scented lavender lotion to finish it off.

Since I am no longer fond of either the gel or acrylic overlay, I decided on a gel manicure with a very faint neutral color and gold glitter for an accent on one finger on each hand. Once done my hands were given an exfoliating scrub, an arm and hand massage, and moisturizing lotion.

They did a great job on both. There are a wide variety of polishes from the typical (OPI, Essie, Zoya) to high end (Christian Louboutin, Dior).  I really like OPI colors so that’s the brand I chose.

image

The salon takes walk ins but very few. Make an appointment. It’s best to do it that way. Prices are reasonable considering how nice it is. I think it’s a great place to treat yourself alone, with a group of friends, or with your partner.

image

Click here for the salon’s website for more information.

4 thoughts on “Weekend Outing: The Nail Boutique

    1. I had no idea the real term for those chairs. I just thought they were see through lucite. Great design wise but not the most comfortable for long term seating.

      Like

Leave a Reply

