Restaurant Review: Peaches

This post will contain more pictures than writing. I’ve tried to detail my experience a few times and the words aren’t coming to me. 

Earlier this week after a hair appointment in Bed Stuy, I went to Peaches for lunch. It was very busy, loud, and the crowd was diverse.

Since I wasn’t going back to work I had a drink called Brownstone Punch, a mix of light and dark rums, pineapple, and other citrus fruits. It was very fruity and sweet. I prefer that during the day. There’s nothing cute about being intoxicated in public!

image

For the appetizer I ordered the smoked sausage and chicken gumbo. I’ve had authentic gumbo before prepared by a New Orleans native so I was prepared not to like it but it was good! I wish I could have had another serving.

image

For my entrée I had the oven baked grits. Inside were pieces of slow cooked ribs, scallions, parmesan cheese. An arugula salad was served on the side. The grits were tasty but nothing has beat the greatness of the grits at Rustik Tavern yet.

image

I usually skip dessert but indulged that day and had something called Peaches Melba. It was a slice of the granola crusted french toast served warm with vanilla ice cream, cling peaches, and a raspberry drizzle. I enjoyed it and wished there were at least two pieces instead of one.

image

Below are pics of what my companion had: a shrimp po boy and a brownie for dessert. Positive reviews for both.

image

image

The server was friendly and attentive. I didn’t feel ignored and didn’t feel like she came over too much.

Another plus, the bathrooms were clean and well decorated. I should have taken a picture but something about taking pics in public bathrooms make me feel gross so I didn’t.

I didn’t get any pictures of the inside or outside of the restaurant because they were very busy which means lots of people. I try my best not to take pictures of people for blog posts.

All in all, the experience at Peaches was nice, the food was good, and I would recommend friends, family, and strangers to go there for brunch or lunch.

Peaches is located at 393 Lewis Avenue. Parking was easy to find during the day. By train, take the C train and get off on the Kingston Throop stop.

2 thoughts on “Restaurant Review: Peaches

    1. What’s funny I didn’t even plan to go here. I wanted to go to the sister restaurant Peaches Hothouse but it didn’t open until 4 p.m. and I was impatient.

      Like

Leave a Reply

