Weekend Outing: Lake Michigan

I took a few days to escape the hustle and bustle that is New York to head back to the Midwest to visit family and friends in Minnesota and Wisconsin. The next few blog posts will feature the restaurants and locations I visited there.
As soon as I headed back to Wisconsin I wanted to see Lake Michigan. I have fond memories of summers at the lakefront and it has nearly been twenty years since I was last there. Actually now that I think of it, it has been more than twenty.

image

It is officially fall now and even though it saddens me deeply to admit this, the weather has changed. It was just sixty degrees the day I was there. No more shorts and bikinis. Long sleeves and even jackets are a must.

image

The beach was clean but practically desolate compared to NYC beaches. There were still a few people out enjoying it. The crowd was very diverse and that always makes me happy.

image

What I found interesting was how blue the water looked. I have memories of old dishwater colored water with seagulls and dead fish all over the place. That wasn’t what I saw. I was pleasantly surprised.

image

image

Leave a Reply

