Restaurant Review: Rustik Tavern

image

I discovered Rustik last year when I attended a function held at the event space next door. To kill time, I ordered food and drinks. I’ve been back ever since.

This is my tried and true restaurant in Brooklyn. I’ve never had a bad meal there and the servers have all been courteous and speedy.
image

I am always down for brunch at Rustik. Don’t quote me but I do think it’s thirty dollars for an hour and a half of mimosas and your brunch entrée. Give me an order of their shrimp and grits and a round of mimosas then me, you, and your friends can be friends, okay?

My most recent visit was during a weekday. Sadly that meant no mimosas but I still had a great meal.

For an appetizer I had an order of Willoughby buffalo wings and a salad. The chicken was crisp but not overcooked and dry. You would have to be a horrible individual to destroy fried chicken so I expected it to be good.

image

The salad was delicious as well. The feta cheese, green apples, and balsamic vinaigrette was a wonderful pairing with the mixed greens. Fruit in salads and pizza usually makes me cry but this time, I loved it.

image

For the entrée I tried the chicken and waffles. I was prepared not to like it. The idea of fried chicken, waffles, and sweet syrup just seems like a do not pass go, do not collect $200 kind of situation. I mean I get it and then I don’t.
I can happily say I am now a fan!

image

The half a chicken was seasoned excellently. There’s nothing worse than bland fried chicken. The skin was crisp and it smelled and tasted great. The waffle was soft inside but had a nice, crispy texture outside. I can give nothing but praise for it.

This restaurant is hands down one of my favorites in Brooklyn. It is located at 471 Dekalb Avenue and opens daily at 11 a.m.  Take the G train or drive. For more information, check out their website here.

One thought on “Restaurant Review: Rustik Tavern

Leave a Reply

