Weekend Outing: Macy’s Peanuts Holiday Display

It’s been awhile since I’ve been out. The weather has been surprisingly warm but things are now getting back to normal with temperatures in the 40s and 50s. Temps under fifty = stay in the house. That was my plan for the entire weekend until Rob Nelson told me Macy’s famed holiday windows were up. I’ve never seen it for myself  and although I’ve been here for awhile I’m still down for all touristy things. So I took the Q train and headed to Herald
Square.

image

The first thing I noticed besides the Peanuts theme was the heavy and armed presence of the NYPD. Part of me was relieved to see it and another was alarmed to see police toting heavy artillery. It’s unnerving but a sign of the times and necessary. Now on to the display windows.

image

image

image

image

All of the displays are animated but I really enjoyed this interactive piano window display with Schroeder. There was a touchscreen with piano keys. When pressed, the display’s piano key would go down and play a note. The kids loved it. It made me want to try it too.

image

image

image

image

image

image

There was another display too. I’m not familiar with those characters or the story but I took photos anyway.

image

image

image

image

When I saw this, I got so excited. I’ve watched the Thanksgiving Parade on TV since I was a child.

image

If I could change one thing I would probably go at night. I would love to see how illuminated it would be and be able to take more photos to compare.

This display is located at Macy’s flagship store on 34th Street in Manhattan. It makes sense to take the train and avoid driving if you can. I took the Q but you can also take the N or the R to get there.

Leave a Reply

