Walking the Brooklyn Bridge

Walking makes me itch. There I said it. I don’t like to walk, I don’t like to run. Just whisk me to a nicely heated or air conditioned car and all is right in my world, okay. Knowing this I don’t know what possessed me to randomly decide to walk from lower Manhattan to Brooklyn. But I did and you know what? I may actually do it again.

image

image

As I approached the bridge part of me was thinking you know Chambers Street isn’t that far away but it was a gorgeous day and I wanted to actually enjoy the sun instead of hopping on a musty train.

image

It’s not a long walk but it is very congested with people and vendors trying to sell you souvenirs, food, and water on the Manhattan side. This jam slightly eases up as you move toward Brooklyn.

image

image

image

It’s a great place to take pics of the city skyline but be patient. People abruptly stop to take pics and frustrated bikers are always screaming at people who wander to the bike side.

image

image

image

If you go I recommend wearing comfy sneakers, bringing your own drink for hydration (please ignore these people screaming ice cold water and soda), and enjoying the view.

By train on the Brooklyn side you can take the A or C to the High Street stop which will put you very close to the walking entrance of the bridge.

Leave a Reply

