Restaurant Review: Sweet Chick 

I ventured into the land of Williamsburg today to pick up some oils from Whole Foods. I was so frazzled by the color coded check out lines and the only thing that could soothe me was either a drink  (it was too early for that) or food (never too early for that!) This is how I arrived at Sweet Chick on the corner of North 8th and Bedford.

Now, I’m a fan of the whole chicken and waffle thing but still wary of getting fried chicken in this neighborhood. It can be hit or miss. Often I’ve found it looks delicious but tastes like it was baptized and seasoned with air and water. Just completely devoid of flavor. There’s nothing more disappointing than bland chicken. Something fried chicken should always be is tasty, okay?

Sweet Chick did not disappoint. I ordered the chicken and waffles, classic style with white meat. They have a variety of flavored waffles but I said let me just stick to the rivers and the lakes that I’m used to.  I also ordered a sweet tea for my beverage. Slightly off topic, can someone please explain to me why New York restaurants serve plain tap water in bottles with no ice? Curious minds (okay, me) want to know. 

So the service was okay. There was just one, cute girl in some little ass shorts.  I thought she might be cold but she was okay.  She took my order and the food came hot and ready in about ten minutes. The waffles were crispy but soft, sprinkled with a little powdered sugar. On another plate  (not pictured) was butter, regular, strawberry, and rosemary. And the chicken was fried perfection, well seasoned, crispy skin, and hot! Yes! 

My only beef is about the portion size. I thought I was being a savage because there were no leftovers. I wasn’t. Well okay not completely. The chicken wing was small and the chicken breast appeared to be hacked in half. For $17, you would think you would get a whole damn chicken breast with your order but I guess. 

I did not take a picture of the restaurant. To me all the restaurants over there have that broke down old shabby chic vintage thing going on. Everything looks worn and old as hell but not so bad that you’re afraid to sit. 

All in all, I recommend this spot. I can’t vouch for everything on the menu but the chicken and waffles were on point. It seemed like a popular spot and was full at 11 a.m.

Sweet Chick has two locations. One in Williamsburg at 164 Bedford Ave, a block away from the L train Bedford Ave stop. The other is in the city at 178 Ludlow St. Check out the restaurant’s website here

Leave a Reply

