NYC Subway Rescue

Over five million people take the subway every day to work, school, or for play. I am one of those millions. I have a license and a vehicle but rarely drive. It’s just more convenient for me to take the train.

Unfortunately, subway service in New York has been in the news a lot for all the wrong reasons: derailments, track fires, violence, and overcrowding.

Recently, Govenor Cuomo announced a state of emergency for the subway system and appointed a new MTA chairman, Joseph Lhota, to oversee the system. Yesterday, Lhota revealed his plan publicly.

There’s been quite a stir about some of these fixes. Now I’m just a regular shmegular rider but I don’t mind sharing what I think should happen. So…like to hear it? Here it goes!

  1. Upgrade signals on the busiest lines. I’ve read the current signals are ancient and they’re pretty much using sticky tape and bubblegum to hold all the old parts together. The parts and system are obsolete and should have been replaced decades ago. Work on that first.
  2. More trains running. Preferably every three minutes.
  3. I wish the people holding the doors for their friends and family received an electric shock. Nothing fatal but enough to let them know to stop that. I’m pretty sure that’s not legal or humane. Some way to prevent people from doing this would be great. This is definitely a problem on many of the lines during the morning and evening rush.
  4. Unpopular opinion but the subway should completely shut down from midnight to 5 a.m. on weekends. There’s no way to properly clean or maintenance the entire system with it being open 24 hours daily.
  5. This is on Lhota’s list and also on mine. Clean the stations and trains up. The platforms and tracks are filthy, wet, and all around gross no matter the weather or time of year. Trains can be the same. There needs to be a greater emphasis on cleanliness for the MTA. It’s just shameful.
  6. I said I would stop at five so this one is my bonus. New trains on the lines with old ones. The style and seating on these trains is awkward and space consuming.

Anyway like I said, I’m just a regular train rider and I don’t have all the answers. I could go on and on but I think my suggestions could help.

One thought on “NYC Subway Rescue

Leave a Reply

