Prospect Park Zoo

On a recent sunny, hot day I decided I wanted to have a little zoo with my park. Enter The Prospect Park Zoo in the Children’s Corner area of Prospect Park.

This is a small zoo with no lions, tigers, and bears (Oh my! I’m sorry I had to do it.) but it’s still enjoyable.

The zoo is split into five different sections. Discovery Trail, Sea Lion Court, Hall of Animals, Animal Lifestyles, and the Barn.

I like that the zoo was beautifully landscaped with lots of green foliage and different flowers. I think it would be a good spot for an upcoming senior to take senior pictures.

My favorite section of the zoo was the barn. I was able to feed the sheep and goats and as you see they were not shy about wanting their food. For fifty cents you get a few food pellets to feed the animals. Little kids were crazy for it.

One thing I found very cool was the peacocks strolling the grounds. I didn’t see one as closely as I would like. He was a little shy that day. I’m not sure how many walk around on a regular basis. I saw three.

Another highlight was the swans and ducks. I’m low-key obsessed with both. You can feed them as well.

More pics. I wish I had kept a tally of the names of each animal but I didn’t.

What I Liked:

  • The zoo is small and walkable.
  • It’s a good spot for small children. I would say from two to five.
  • A zoo where you can feed the animals is always fun.
  • The price was excellent. Eight bucks for adults and five for kids. The Central Park Zoo was shockingly much higher.

That’s That Ish I Don’t Like:

  • There’s really no food at this zoo and what little they do have is grossly overpriced.
  • Due to the amount of small children it was like attack of the strollers at all times.
  • Another thing I didn’t like was the smaller pathways to certain exhibits. If a family is coming through with strollers you have to stop and slide to get out the way.

For more on the zoo check out their website here. Tickets and be purchased at the zoo or online. You can drive or take the B, Q, and S to Prospect Park stop or the 2, 3, and 4 to the Eastern Parkway/Brooklyn Museum stop.

Leave a Reply

