Big Bus Tour

Let me start off by saying I’m a corny, nerdy woman. Core. Knee. Okay? I’ve always known it, it’s who I am, I’ve made peace with it. It’s all right. One of the things on my bucket list was being real touristy and take a trip on one of those bus tours to see the sights. Recently, I was able to cross that off my list and make it happen hence my blog post today.

Patience and Fortitude

The tour takes you to various landmarks around the city. You can choose the route (Downtown, Midtown, Uptown, and Brooklyn). I chose the Downtown route.

I saw various neighborhoods I haven’t spent time in like SoHo and the Lower East Side.

With Big Bus you have the option to hop on and off, leaving the bus to stroll the neighborhood or visit a site like the 9/11 Memorial and then hopping on to continue the bus tour on another bus when it arrives at several designated pick up sites along the way.

Wall Street

The buses are all double decker style with an open top and an enclosed bottom. Naturally everyone crowded to the top for the best view. In the spring and summer this may be great but I wouldn’t want to be up there when it’s raining or cold.

My favorite neighborhood on the tour was the Lower East Side. There was an abundance of street art and murals. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to take pics of them all because I was seated in a funky place.

As the tour came to a close we headed back to 42nd Street and I saw The Seated Ballerina for the first time.

We reached 42nd Street and everybody didn’t have to go home but they had to get off the bus. With that, the tour ended and a nerdy woman did something she’s always wanted to do. This is a great thing!

On the last post I did my version of pros and cons and I think I will continue that trend.

Miley, What’s Good!

See the sights without spending too much time. If you don’t get off the bus the tour is about an hour and a half to two hours.

Learn quick little facts about the city from the tour guide. Did you know the lions in front of the New York Public Library are named Patience and Fortitude? See…I didn’t either.

This tour is family friendly and appropriate for all ages.

The app has the location of all stops for all routes and that helped.

Ooh, That Was Bad!

Nobody really got off so new passengers were all forced to sit at the bottom or wait for another bus.

Views from under the canopy on top and on the bottom are extremely limited.

Lines can be long get there as early as you can.

My tour guide went on and on about rent control and gentrification. I get it but…next topic please.

Prices. A little over hundred for two people. Not cheap especially when you can’t control where you are seated and what you can see.

The Big Bus website has more information on the routes and pricing.

Leave a Reply

